RACE REPORTS: Tatnell Wins $20,000 in Australia

Concord, NC — Brooke Tatnell was more determined than ever to return to Victory Lane on Saturday night, after bad luck befell him on Friday in the first night of the two-day World Series Sprintcars (WSS) season finale. 

After winning in his first race back on Australian soil on Wednesday at Brisbane International Speedway (BIS), Tatnell suffered a flat tire while leading at BIS on Friday night. He was back in action on Saturday and handily claimed the $20,000 winner’s check with a stout field of cars in attendance.

The triumph was the fourth of the 2006/2007 WSS season, for the five-time champion, who hails from San Souci, New South Wales. He won the first two rounds of the season, before returning to the United States to be with his wife Amy for the birth of their daughter Emma and to celebrate the Holiday’s, after claiming four A-Feature wins in World of Outlaws competition in 2006.

Though Tatnell, who finished sixth in World of Outlaws points last season, suffered the flat tire on Friday night, he was the leading point earner on the preliminary night and put himself in a good position for the $20,000 finale. He started on the pole of the first dash and picked up the win to earn the pole position in the 50-lap Feature.

Tatnell driving the Krikke Motorsports / Toyota Genuine Parts #1 Cool battled with Robbie Farr for the lead in the early going. He made his final pass of the night for the lead and ultimately the win on the 11th circuit. The fan favorite and always affable drive took the win, over fellow World of Outlaws driver Paul McMahan.

McMahan, made a late pass to secure the runner-up spot, driving for Titan Racing in the Titan Garages sponsored event. American drivers claimed five of the top-six spots in the final running order. Jason Johnson was fourth, with 2005 World of Outlaws Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year Award winner Shane Stewart fifth, and Bud Kaeding was sixth, also driving for Titan Racing.

The 2007 World of Outlaws season opens for Tatnell and McMahan on February 9 at Volusia Speedway Park with the 36th Annual DIRTcar Nationals Presented By Mopar Speedshop.


Which Schedule Would You like to Add to Your Calendar