Outlaws Announce Return to Devil’s Bowl

091815 Devils Bowl Announce
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

The World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series Announces Return to Devil’s Bowl Speedway for Texas Outlaw Nationals

The series returns to its birthplace on April 22 and 23, 2016 

CONCORD, N.C. – Sept. 18, 2015 – The World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series returns to the birthplace of the series, Devil’s Bowl Speedway, for the Texas Outlaw Nationals on April 22 and 23, 2016.

The new, annual tradition features two complete nights of racing action on the banked, half-mile oval in Mesquite with a Texas-sized purse totaling more than $100,000 for the weekend.

“The Texas Outlaw Nationals is a connection between our past, present and future,” said World of Outlaws CEO Brian Carter. “Returning to Devil’s Bowl for this new annual tradition is an exciting homecoming. Series founder Ted Johnson started the series with a vision to make it the Greatest Show on Dirt and today his vision lives on through more than 90 annual events across the United States and Canada.”

In March 1978, Johnson gathered together a group of racers from across the country to start the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series. Jimmy Boyd picked up that first win at the track in suburban Dallas. Since that time, the World of Outlaws has made 55 appearances there. Three-time World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series champion Sammy Swindell is the winningest driver at Devil’s Bowl with 12 trips to victory lane.

It is the six-time series champion Donny Schatz though who leads the Outlaws’ return. In the last three appearances since 2014, the Fargo, N.D.-native has two wins.

Ticket renewals start Monday, Sept. 21 at 9 a.m. (EST) while tickets go on sale to the public on Oct. 22. A special fan bonus will allow access to the pits with a “Fan Pit Pass” available only with tickets purchased in advance.

Two-day reserved tickets are $69 and premium reserved tickets are $79. Reserved two-day tickets for children ages 12-and-under are $30. All advance packages receive a free ‘Fan Pit Pass.’

To order your tickets, visit www.WorldofOutlaws.com/tickets, or call 877-337-8849.

For more information on the Texas Outlaw Nationals, click www.WoOSprint.com or visit www.DevilsBowl.com.

Previous Devil’s Bowl Speedway Feature Winners

2015 – Donny Schatz on April 25
2014 – Donny Schatz on April 18, Daryn Pittman on April 19
2003 – Tyler Walker on March 15
2002 – Joey Saldana on March 16
2001 – Craig Dollansky on March 10, Joey Saldana on October 27
2000 – Danny Lasoski on March 11, Sammy Swindell on October 28
1999 – Danny Lasoski on April 24, Sammy Swindell on April 24 (1998 Winter Nat’ls finale), Gary Wright on October 15
1998 – Steve Kinser on March 21
1997 – Mark Kinser on March 22, Mark Kinser on October 18
1996 – Steve Kinser on March 23, Mark Kinser on October 19
1995 – Gary Wright on March 18, Stevie Smith on July 29, Gary Wright on October 21
1994 – Andy Hillenburg on March 19, Steve Kinser on July 30, Sammy Swindell on October 23
1993 – Steve Kinser on March 20, Gary Wright on July 31, Dave Blaney on October 23
1992 – Stevie Smith on March 21, Sammy Swindell on June 13, Steve Kinser on October 24
1988 – Dave Blaney on March 19, Steve Kinser on June 18
1987 – Sammy Swindell on March 15, Bobby Davis, Jr., on June 20
1986 – Bobby Allen on March 9, Sammy Swindell on June 21
1985 – Steve Kinser on March 3, Sammy Swindell on June 21
1984 – Steve Kinser on March 4, Bobby Davis, Jr., on May 4, Jeff Swindell on June 22
1983 – Doug Wolfgang on April 22, Ron Shuman on June 24
1982 – Bobby Davis, Jr., on March 20, Steve Kinser on June 25
1981 – Danny Smith on March 14, Doug Wolfgang on March 21, Ron Shuman on June 26
1980 – Doug Wolfgang on March 15, Sammy Swindell on March 22, Sammy Swindell on June 27, Sammy Swindell on September 13
1979 – Steve Kinser on March 31, Sammy Swindell on September 8
1978 – Jimmy Boyd on March 18, Sammy Swindell on September 16

The World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series is brought to fans across the country by many important sponsors and partners, including: Lincoln Welders (Official Welder), Bad Boy Buggies (Official Side-by-Side Vehicle), The Kenny Wallace Dirt Racing Experience (Official Racing Experience), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Tire), VP Racing Fuels (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to contingency sponsors, including: Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, JE Pistons, KSE Racing Products, Mobil 1, MSD, Penske Racing Shocks, Sweet Manufacturing, and Superflow Dynos; along with manufacturer sponsors, including: ButlerBuilt, Intercomp, Impact Race Products, Racing Electronics, S&S Volvo and TNT Rescue.

Related Posts

Which Schedule Would You like to Add to Your Calendar