NEWS & NOTES: Custom Jeep to Pace Field

041714 DevilsBowl KMC Jeep 650x400

NEWS & NOTES: Starwood Motors Builds Custom Kevlar Jeep with KMC Wheels to Pace Texas Outlaw Nationals presented by American Racing Custom Wheels

Field continues to grow for this weekend; rule added for drivers injured in dash


MESQUITE, Texas – April 17, 2014 – Starwood Motors Custom Kevlar Jeeps, the pioneer of custom Jeeps in Dallas and known worldwide for its unique Kevlar fiber-coated Jeep Wrangler conversions, will pace the field this weekend at the Devil’s Bowl Speedway Texas Outlaw Nationals presented by American Racing Custom Wheels in a specially built 2014 Jeep Wrangler Tactical Ops Rubicon riding on KMC Wheels.

This Starwood Custom features KMC XD Series 20″ Bomb wheels, 37″ Nitto Grappler Tires, Body Armor, Teraflex long-arm suspension, Rigid Lighting, Alpine Audio system and “Ferrari 458” leather interior.

“We are very excited to join our partner KMC Wheels to display our exclusively built Jeep conversions to the World of Outlaws audience, and be a part of a great community event,” said Anooj Thakker, Interactive Manager for Starwood Motors Dallas.

“These highly modified machines not only perform off-road, but also serve as a comfortable, easy-to-drive daily driver,” said Jacob Bair of KMC Wheels. “The craftsmanship and quality of a Starwood Motors Custom is unequalled. I can’t wait to see the heads turn.”

Starwood Motors is Dallas’ most-trusted pre-owned car dealer and customization shop. From basic family cars to the most luxurious vehicles in the world, every car at Starwood has been carefully detailed and refurbished to be like new. Starwood is one of only a few dealers in Texas licensed to sell all makes and models of both new and pre-owned vehicles. For more on Starwood Motors, visit

EXPECTED ENTRIES: The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series is expecting a car count in the mid-30s this weekend at Devil’s Bowl Speedway. In addition to the 14 teams that follow the series full-time (with drivers Jacob Allen (1a), Cody Darrah (4), Kraig Kinser (11k), Steve Kinser (11), Danny Lasoski (83), Kerry Madsen (29), Paul McMahan (51), Daryn Pittman (9), Joey Saldana (71M), Donny Schatz (15), Logan Schuchart (1S), Jason Sides (7S), Brad Sweet (49) and Sammy Swindell (1)), a number of other drivers are also expected to compete, including Swindell’s son, Kevin, and his brother, Jeff.

Texas Outlaw Nationals Presented by American Racing Custom Wheels Expected Entries





Brad Loyet

Sunset Hills, Mo.


Sammy Swindell

Germantown, Tenn.


Jacob Allen

Hanover, Pa.


Danny Jennings

Norman, Okla.


Logan Schuchart

Hanover, Pa.


Cody Darrah

Red Lion, Pa.


Shawn Petersen

Irving, Texas


Jason Sides

Bartlett, Tenn.


Daryn Pittman

Owasso, Okla.


Steve Kinser

Bloomington, Ind.


Kraig Kinser

Bloomington, Ind.


Donny Schatz

Fargo, N.D.


Sam Hafertepe Jr.

Sunnyvale, Texas


Josh Baughman

Odessa, Texas


Tony Bruce Jr

Liberal, Kan.


Greg Wilson

Benton Ridge, Ohio


Seth Bergman

Snohomish, Wash.


Kerry Madsen

St. Marys, NSW


Travis Rilat

Forney, Texas


Jason Johnson

Eunice, La.


Johnny Herrera

Albuquerque, N.M.


Brad Sweet

Grass Valley, Calif.


Paul McMahan

Nashville, Tenn.


David Gravel

Watertown, Ct.


Joey Saldana

Brownsburg, Ind.


John Carney II

El Paso, Texas


Josh Hodges

Albuquerque, N.M.


Wayne Johnson

Oklahoma City, Okla.


Kevin Swindell

Germantown, Tenn.


Danny Lasoski

Dover, Mo.


Dustin Morgan

Owasso, Okla.


Jeff Swindell

Memphis, Tenn.


RULE AMENDMENT: During the Thursday night event at The Dirt Track at Las Vegas Motor Speedway in March, Joey Saldana transferred to the A-main, as well as the dash, through his heat race. Saldana was subsequently injured during the dash and advised by on-site medical personnel to seek further attention. He was transported to a local hospital for examination, meaning he was unable to start the A-main.

That night, following series rules, Saldana was awarded non-transfer driver points (75) in the championship while his team used a replacement driver to start the A-main and pull off after the green flag waved to receive last-place A-main points (102) in the team standings.

After a thorough review of the situation, the World of Outlaws determined the rule was flawed, as it pertained mainly to drivers who had not already qualified for the A-main. Therefore, an updated guideline will be added to the rulebook stating a dash car or driver that cannot start the A-main due to crash or injury will be awarded a last-place A-main finish. In addition, Saldana will be awarded the difference between the non-transfer points he received and last-place points in the A-main, a difference of 27 points that will be added to his total in the championship standings.

WHEN, WHERE, HOW MUCH? Answers for many questions about this weekend’s event at Devil’s Bowl Speedway, including the schedule and ticket prices, can be found on the World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series website and the specific event page for the Texas Outlaw Nationals presented by American Racing Custom Wheels by clicking

TIDBITS: Friday night’s event will be the first time the World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series has raced at Devil’s Bowl Speedway since 2003, but it will also mark the 100th all-time Outlaw race at the historic Mesquite track. The series has run 51 full-points events and 48 preliminary events at Devil’s Bowl. … Sammy Swindell is the leading winner in World of Outlaws history at Devil’s Bowl with 12 full-points wins and 11 preliminary feature victories. Steve Kinser has 10 full-points victories and 7 preliminary wins, meaning Swindell and Kinser have combined to win 40 percent of all the World of Outlaws races at Devil’s Bowl. … Joey Saldana won World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series feature events at Devil’s Bowl in 2001 and 2002, joining his father, Joe, who won at Devil’s Bowl before the Outlaws came into existence in 1978. … The first World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series event was in March of 1978. Norman Martin and Doug Wolfgang won the preliminary nights while Jimmy Boyd is credited with the first official full-points victory. Steve Kinser, who would go on to become the 20-time King of the Outlaws with 577 feature event victories and countless preliminary wins finished last in the first feature. … Kasey Kahne Racing’s Daryn Pittman enters the weekend with the World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series championship lead. Pittman is the fourth different driver to lead the standings in the first 15 events of the season. Last year, Pittman won the opening night feature and never relinquished the points lead to win his first – and Kasey Kahne Racing’s first – World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series championship.

The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series is brought to fans across the country by many important sponsors and partners, including: American Racing Custom Wheels (Official Custom Wheel), Armor All (Official Car Care Products), Lincoln Welders (Official Welder), STP (Official Fuel Treatment), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Tire), VP Racing Fuels (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to contingency sponsors, including: Bruce High Performance Transporters, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, JE Pistons, KSE Racing Products, MSD, Sweet Manufacturing, and Superflow Dynos; along with manufacturer sponsors, including: ButlerBuilt, Intercomp, J&J Auto Racing, Jake’s Carts, Racing Electronics, S&S Volvo and TNT Rescue.

Which Schedule Would You like to Add to Your Calendar