DIRTcar Nationals at a Glance

021014 DCN SP preview
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

World of Outlaws STP Sprint Cars at a Glance: DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit Racing Equipment

‘Salute to the King’ plus Pittman’s title defense kick off Friday at Volusia Speedway Park


BARBERVILLE, Fla. — Feb. 10, 2014 — The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series kicks off the 2014 season on Feb. 14 during the DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit Racing Equipment at Volusia Speedway Park.


This also marks the beginning of Steve Kinser’s “Salute to the King” tour marking the 20-time champion’s final run at a series title. Four of Kinser’s 576 World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series A-main victories have come at Volusia, including two in 2011.


Last season’s eventual champion, Daryn Pittman, earned the victory on opening night at Volusia in his Kasey Kahne Racing Great Clips car. This time around, Pittman will begin his title defense on the fastest half-mile dirt oval in the country.


The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Cars compete Friday (Feb. 14), Saturday (Feb. 15) and Sunday (Feb. 16) for three nights in the 12-night DCN line up with the World of Outlaws Late Models, the Super DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds and UMP DIRTcar Modifieds.



  • Friday through Sunday, Feb. 14-16, at Volusia Speedway Park. Grandstands open at 5 p.m. nightly with hot laps and qualifying at 6 p.m. and racing at 7:30 p.m.



  • Volusia Speedway Park is located just 15 miles west of Ormond Beach on S.R 40. From I-95, take exit 268 west on State Rd. 40. From Highway 17, take S.R. 40, 5 miles east of Barberville. Click on the link for a map (http://goo.gl/maps/9BH8h)


Volusia Speedway Park is a semi-banked, half-mile oval. The track record is 12.569 seconds by Paul McMahan on Feb. 10, 2011

Previous A-Feature winners at Volusia Speedway Park:

2013 – Daryn Pittman on Feb. 15, Terry McCarl on Feb. 16, Danny Lasoski on Feb 17

2012 – Danny Lasoski on Feb. 18, Donny Schatz on Feb. 19, Craig Dollansky on Feb. 19

2011 – Steve Kinser on Feb. 11, Steve Kinser on Feb. 12, Jason Sides on Feb. 13

2010 – Donny Schatz on Feb. 6, Steve Kinser on Feb. 7

2009 – Donny Schatz on Feb. 6, Joey Saldana on Feb. 7, Donny Schatz on Feb. 8

2008 – Craig Dollansky on Feb. 8, Jason Meyers on Feb. 9, Danny Lasoski on Feb. 10

2007 – Donny Schatz on Feb. 9, Kerry Madsen on Feb. 10, Daryn Pittman on Feb. 10

2006 – Chad Kemenah on Feb. 9, Joey Saldana on Feb. 10

2005 – Jeff Shepard on Feb. 11, Steve Kinser on Feb. 13

1981 – Doug Wolfgang on Feb. 9




The following World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series drivers maintain websites:

Cody Darrah – CodyDarrah.com

Tim Kaeding – TKaedingracing.com

Chad Kemenah – ChadKemenah.com

Kraig Kinser – KraigKinser.com

Steve Kinser – SteveKinser.com

Kerry Madsen – KenericRacing.com

Paul McMahan – PaulMcMahanRacing.com

Daryn Pittman – DarynPittman.com

Bill Rose – BillRoseRacing.com

Joey Saldana – JoeySaldanaRacing.com

Donny Schatz – DonnySchatz.com

Logan Schuchart – Shark1s.com

Jason Sides – SidesMotorsports.com

Sammy Swindell – SwindellMotorsports.citymaker.com

For more driver information, visit: WoOsprint.com


WATCH LIVE: Listen live as the Voice of the Outlaws, Johnny Gibson, calls the action for all of the World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series events on the DIRT Radio Network, with live streaming video available every night from Volusia at DIRTVision.com.

FOLLOW ONLINE: Live updates are available all night long via Twitter by following @WorldofOutlaws or by following real-time timing-and-scoring at http://www.WoOSprint.com. Fans can interact with each other through the new chat function at http://www.DIRTVision.com.

UP NEXT: The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series races into The Dirt Track at Las Vegas for the FVP Outlaw Showdown on March 5-6.

The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series is brought to fans across the country by many important sponsors and partners, including: American Racing Custom Wheels (Official Custom Wheel), Armor All (Official Car Care Products), Lincoln Welders (Official Welder), STP (Official Fuel Treatment), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Tire), VP Racing Fuels (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to contingency sponsors, including: Bruce High Performance Transporters, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, JE Pistons, KSE Racing Products, MSD, Sweet Manufacturing, and Superflow Dynos; along with manufacturer sponsors, including: ButlerBuilt, Intercomp, J&J Auto Racing, Jake’s Carts, Racing Electronics, S&S Volvo and TNT Rescue.

Related Posts

Which Schedule Would You like to Add to Your Calendar