Dakota State Fair Speedway to Host Inaugural World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series Event in 2015

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

HURON, S.D. — November 12, 2014 — Dakota State Fair Speedway in South Dakota, is set to host the best sprint car drivers in the world on Saturday, June 20, 2015, as the World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series will make their first-ever visit to the semi-banked three-eighths-mile. Dakota State Fair Speedway is located on the grounds of the South Dakota State Fairgrounds in Huron, South Dakota.

“I’ve always wanted to have a World of Outlaws event, but their schedule never quite worked out when we had an opening in our schedule, but it will for 2015,” said Orville Chenoweth, Promoter at Dakota State Fair Speedway. “It should be a great fit for both the track and the World of Outlaws. There are some sprint car drivers in this region that have wanted to come and run here for a while and this will give them an opportunity and they’ll get to race against the Outlaws.”

Dakota State Fair Speedway will mark the fifth track in South Dakota that the World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series has raced at, dating back to 1979. A total of 15 drivers have won A-Feature events with the series in South Dakota, led by three-time series champion Sammy Swindell, who retired earlier this year. Swindell claimed 11 A-Feature wins in the state during his legendary career.

Steve Kinser, the 20-time series champion, who completed his last full season with the series in 2014, has 10 A-Feature wins in the state. Along with Kinser and Swindell, other Hall of Fame drivers that have won with the World of Outlaws in South Dakota include: Dave Blaney, Bobby Davis Jr., Mark Kinser, Ron Shuman, Jimmy Sills and Doug Wolfgang.

Donny Schatz, who drives for Tony Stewart Racing, and recently won his sixth Outlaws championship, is the winningest active driver with the series in South Dakota, having earned four wins at two different tracks. Craig Dollansky, who returns to the series full-time in 2015, has also been victorious twice in the state.

Dakota State Fair Speedway hosted the World of Outlaws Gumout Series in 2002, and current World of Outlaws of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series drivers Jason Sides and Shane Stewart competed in that event. The track also has held a pair of World of Outlaws Late Model Series events, first in 2005, and again in 2010.

“We’ve hosted the WISSOTA 100 the last few years, which is also a big event, and this will really be the icing on the cake,” said Chenoweth of the World of Outlaws debut at the three-eighths-mile. “The fans really enjoyed when we had the World of Outlaws Gumout Series here a number of years ago and everyone should be pretty excited to see all of the Outlaws in 2015.”

More information on tickets will become available at a later date at www.slspromotions.com.

Related Posts

Which Schedule Would You like to Add to Your Calendar