World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Models
 Independence Motor Speedway
Independence, Iowa
Friday, July 05, 2019 
Winner: Brandon Sheppard
2nd: Chris Simpson
3rd: Chase Junghans

Race Recap: A ROCKET TO THE TOP: Sheppard Collects 10th of the Year at Independence

Using a lane few other drivers chose to use throughout the night at the start of the Morton Buildings Feature, Brandon Sheppard showed a packed house of Buchanan County fairgoers exactly why he’s known as “The Rocket Shepp.” Blasting off around the outside of Iowa-native Chris Simpson on lap four, Sheppard ran away with the lead and dominated his competition over 50 laps at Independence Motor Speedway to collect his… [Read More]

Race Results: 7/5/19 - Independence Motor Speedway

Morton Buildings Feature (50 Laps) 1. 1-Brandon Sheppard [3][$10,000]; 2. 32-Chris Simpson [1][$5,000]; 3. 18-Chase Junghans [5][$3,000]; 4. B1-Brent Larson [2][$2,500]; 5. 16-Tyler Bruening [6][$2,000]; 6. 28-Dennis Erb [8][$1,700]; 7. 29-Darrell Lanigan [10][$1,400]; 8. 25-Shane Clanton [12][$1,300]; 9. 7-Ricky Weiss [4][$1,200]; 10. 97-Cade Dillard [11][$1,100]; 11. 99B-Boom Briggs [9][$1,050]; 12. 6-Blake Spencer [18][$1,000]; 13. 43-Jeremy Grady [16][$950]; 14. 22B-Jonathan Brauns [14][$900]; 15. 10-Paul Parker [19][$850]; 16. 58-Dave Eckrich [17][$800]; 17. 25s-Chad Simpson [7][$770]; 18. 29D-Spencer Diercks [13][$750]; 19. 87-John Emerson [20][$730]; 20. 98-Jason Rauen [15][$700]; 21. 17-Tim Simpson [21][$700] Hard Charger: 6-Blake Spencer[+6]

Qualifying  1. 32-Chris Simpson, 14.284; 2. 1-Brandon Sheppard, 14.302; 3. 18-Chase Junghans, 14.483; 4. 25s-Chad Simpson, 14.516; 5. 7-Ricky Weiss, 14.518; 6. B1-Brent Larson, 14.536; 7. 16-Tyler Bruening, 14.657; 8. 28-Dennis Erb, 14.685; 9. 99B-Boom Briggs, 14.719; 10. 29-Darrell Lanigan, 14.816; 11. 97-Cade Dillard, 14.848; 12. 98-Jason Rauen, 14.913; 13. 43-Jeremy Grady, 15.008; 14. 87-John Emerson, 15.076; 15. 25-Shane Clanton, 15.082; 16. 29D-Spencer Diercks, 15.082; 17. 58-Dave Eckrich, 15.141; 18. 6-Blake Spencer, 15.153; 19. 10-Paul Parker, 15.18; 20. 22B-Jonathan Brauns, 15.244; 21. 17-Tim Simpson, 15.656

Drydene Heat #1 (10 Laps) – Top 7 Transfer 1. 32-Chris Simpson [1]; 2. 16-Tyler Bruening [3]; 3. 25s-Chad Simpson [2]; 4. 29-Darrell Lanigan [4]; 5. 29D-Spencer Diercks [6]; 6. 43-Jeremy Grady [5]; 7. 10-Paul Parker [7]

Drydene Heat #2 (10 Laps) – Top 7 Transfer 1. 1-Brandon Sheppard [1]; 2. 7-Ricky Weiss [2]; 3. 28-Dennis Erb [3]; 4. 97-Cade Dillard [4]; 5. 22B-Jonathan Brauns [7]; 6. 58-Dave Eckrich [6]; 7. 87-John Emerson [5]

Drydene Heat #3 (10 Laps) – Top 7 Transfer 1. B1-Brent Larson [2]; 2. 18-Chase Junghans [1]; 3. 99B-Boom Briggs [3]; 4. 25-Shane Clanton [5]; 5. 98-Jason Rauen [4]; 6. 6-Blake Spencer [6]; 7. 17-Tim Simpson [7]

World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Models
July 5, 2019
Independence Motor Speedway
204 12th St NE
Independence, Iowa 50644

World of Outlaws Late Model Series, IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars

To Win Amount

Event Schedule
4:00pm Pit Gates Open
5:00pm Pill Draw (closes at 6:15pm) at Series Command Center
6:15pm Driver's Meeting at Series Command Center
6:45pm Hot Laps
7:30pm Racing
*All times Central

To Win Amount

Type of Grandstand
Bleachers - No backs

Stadium Seating

Handicapped Seating
located on frontstretch

Handicapped Parking
Front gate entrance

Pit Age Limit
14 and older allowed in pit area

Personal Coolers
No coolers allowed


Credit Card Use
Ticket Window

Alcohol Sales
Not allowed in

Smoking Policy
No smoking in grandstands by State law.

Family Section
turn 4 side of grandstands

Parking Cost

Camping Availability
onsite, non-electric, showers

Camping Cost

Closest Airport
Eastern Iowa (Cedar Rapids)

Other Airport

Independence Motor Speedway
204 12th St NE
Independence, Iowa 50644

Track Phone
(319) 334-9287

Track History
The track was originally a horse racing track which started with the Buchanan County Fair.

In 1964, Lyle Shriver converted the track into a quarter mile stock car racing track. The track opened in 1965 under the promoters of Lyle Shriver, Jack Holt, Vern and Coralee Weber.

Also, along the way, Doc and Helen Hunt helped the Weber's promote the track, which they named it Greater Iowa Racing. Later, the track was then ran by Jerry Blue and then Blue turned the track over to the Buchanan County Fair board.

The name of the track was named Independence Motor Speedway, since Blue had the Greater Iowa Racing logo. Independence Motor Speedway is the longest continuing running dirt track in IA!

In the 70's the track was changed into a 3/8's mile. Over the years, different things have been tried, high banking and a flatter track, but it's always provided great racing. It's one of the hardest tracks in the state to be dominant at!

The Hall of Fame was then created and it has continued with the help of Mike Flaucher, LaVerne Tarpy, and Gary and Karen Crawford who picked up the reins and moved forward with it.

The following have been inducted to the Hall of Fame: Chub Liebe,; Verlin Eaker (1st track champion), Glen Martin, Dave Noble, Bob Hesse, Vern Weber, Doc Hunt, Lyle Shriver, Bill Zimpfer.

In 2015, acknowledging the track's 50th Year Anniversary, those inducted were as follows: Ed Sanger, Curt Hanson & Gary Crawford.

2016 Inductees: Jim Burbridge, Jack Mitchel, Scott Braun & Mike Baumgartner.

2017 Inductees: Red Dralle, Red Droste, Bill Zwanzinger, Jim Roper and Dick Moore.

Track Size & Type

Late Model Track Record
13.865 Chad Simpson 8/5/13

 Independence Motor Speedway Facebook

Ticket Phone
(319) 334-9287

Camping Availability
onsite, non-electric, showers

Camping Price

Which Schedule Would You like to Add to Your Calendar