Practice for Queen City Shootout at Whynot

2018 LMS Practice Whynot

MERIDIAN, MS- April 19, 2018– The World of Outlaws Craftsman® Late Model Series practiced on Thursday night prior to the inaugural Queen City Shootout at Whynot Motorsports Park on Friday and Saturday, April 20-21. This new Mississippi event is sure to be a hit with back-to-back nights of 50 lap $10,000-to-win shootouts at the “House of Hook.” This weekend is the Series only stop in the state of Mississippi in 2018.

More than 30 Late Model drivers entered practice on Thursday evening including 14 full-time World of Outlaws drivers. Among the drivers at practice included Mississippi-native and 2018 rookie of the year contender, David Breazeale. Breazeale has won two Fall Classic events at Whynot Motorsports Park (2005 and 2016) and several events at the track with the Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series (MSCC).

The most recent winner of a Super Late Model event at Whynot Motorsports Park (March 24, 2018) was in the house for practice on Thursday– Tyler Erb. The young driver of New Waverly, TX is still searching for his first-ever Series win. With a night of practice under his belt and two shots at it this weekend, the No. 91 might find his way to Victory Lane.

Last year during the World of Outlaws first visit to the quarter-mile track, Brandon Sheppard battled with Timothy Culp, Chris Madden and Billy Moyer to claim his first win of the season on March 24, 2017. Sheppard completed the World of Outlaws 2017 season with a total of 18 wins and was crowned champion.

The fastest three drivers during practice were Morgan Bagley (12.069), Rusty Schlenk (12.080) and Brian Rickman (12.137). A total of 21 drivers unofficially beat the track record of 12.510 seconds by Breazeale on Aug. 8, 2015.

The World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series is excited to return to action for the inaugural Queen City Shootout this weekend. We hope to see you here on Friday and Saturday, April 20-21!

Drivers at Whynot Motorsports Park for Thursday’s Open Practice:

b1- Brent Larson, Lake Elmo, MN

1- Brandon Sheppard, New Berlin, IL

cj1- Rusty Schlenk, McClure, OH

1*- Chub Frank, Bear Lake, PA

3- Shay Knight, Columbus, MS

4- Michael Arnold, Hattiesburg, MS

5- Jon Mitchell, Texarkana, TX

6- Blake Spencer, St. Augustine, FL

7- Rick Eckert, York, PA

c8- Timothy Culp, Prattsville, AR

9- Devin Moran, Dresden, OH

10- Spencer Hughes, Meridian, MS

14m- Morgan Bagley, Longview, TX

14z- Zack McMillian, Kilgore, TX

15- Chris Smith, Brewton, AL

17- Billy Franklin, Calera, AL

18- Chase Junghans, Manhattan, KS

18- Jack Sullivan, Greenbrier, AR

21- Billy Moyer, Batesville, AR

21jr- Billy Moyer Jr, Batesville, AR

44- Dave Hess Jr., Waterford, PA

44- Chris Madden, Gray Court, SC

51- Joey Moriarty, Phoenix, AZ

54- David Breazeale, Starksville, MS

77- Gavin Landers, Batesville, AR

86- Rick Rickman, Columbus, MS

90- Brian Rickman, Columbus, MS

91- Tyler Erb, New Waverly, TX

94- Austin Rettig, Sikeston, MO

97- Cade Dillard, Many, LA

99b- Boom Briggs, Bear Lake, PA

116- Brandon Overton, Evans, GA

Which Schedule Would You like to Add to Your Calendar