Duck River Rained Out, Tazewell On Deck

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print


Rain Forces World of Outlaws Late Model Series Officials to Reschedule Duck River Raceway Park Event to Sunday, May 18

Tour now heads to Tazewell Speedway for Saturday night $10,000-to-win event


By Chris Tilley, CT Marketing & Motorsports Services


WHEEL, Tenn. – April 11, 2014 – Just after World of Outlaws Late Model Series Group “A” of Ohlins Shocks Time Trials ended and Group “B” began, so did Mother Nature on Friday night at Duck River Raceway Park, forcing the night to end early. The Outlaws will now head to Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway for Saturday’s $10,000-to-win event.


Heavy rain hit the track in the middle of qualifying, washing out the rest of the program. Track and series officials rescheduled it for Sunday, May 18, setting up a triple-header weekend with 201 Speedway in Sitka, Ky., on Friday, May 16, and Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tenn., on Saturday, May 17.


“It’s unfortunate for the fans and drivers who traveled so far to see the World of Outlaws stars,” said Series Director Tim Christman. “We hate it for track owner Bob (Harris) who had a record crowd tonight as well.”


Thirty-eight cars entered the event and Group “A” of Ohlins Shocks Time Trials had completed. Shane Clanton of Zebulon, Ga., was the fastest car in Group “A” with a 11.862-second lap. Clanton unofficially lowered the track record in Qualifying. A complete new program will be run when the series returns on May 18.


The World of Outlaws Late Model Series will be back in action Saturday night (April 12) at Gary Hall’s Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway for another 50-lap $10,000-to-win event.


For more information on the WoO LMS, visit Fans can also follow the WoO LMS on Twitter at and Facebook at



Entry-List prior to rainout: David Seibers, Brandon Overton, Tony Morris, Caleb Ashby, Kyle Bronson, Darrell Lanigan, Brad Skinner, Mike Marlar, Clint Nichols, Chub Frank, Eric Wells, Chase Junghans, J.R. Atchley, Clint Smith, Mark Fields, Jack Sullivan, Frank Heckenast Jr., Shane Clanton, Ray McElhiney, Eric Hickerson, Ray Cook, Tom Maddox, Tim McCreadie, Anthony Burroughs, Riley Hickman, Michael Chilton, Shannon Babb, Joe Denby, Brian Rickman, Mark Gant, Rick Eckert, Rick “Boom” Briggs, Robert Stutts, Morgan Bagley, Dale McDowell, Josh Putnam, Rick Rickman, Brandon Sheppard.



World of Outlaws Late Model Series Championship Points

1. Darrell Lanigan-860 (Union, KY)

2. Brandon Sheppard-838 (New Berlin, IL)

3. Rick Eckert-798 (York, PA)

4. Shane Clanton-780 (Zebulon, GA)

5. Tim McCreadie-766 (Watertown, NY)

6. Frank Heckenast Jr.-748 (Orland Park, IL)

7. Morgan Bagley-742 (Tyler, TX)

8. Eric Wells-734 (Hazard, KY)

9. Chub Frank-726 (Bear Lake, PA)

10. Clint Smith-702 (Senoia, GA)



World of Outlaws Late Model Series 2014 Event Winners (after 3/29/14):

Brady Smith-Bubba Raceway Park February 14th

Brandon Sheppard-Bubba Raceway Park February 15th

Darrell Lanigan-Bubba Raceway Park February 16th

Casey Roberts-Volusia Speedway Park February 20th

Kyle Bronson-Volusia Speedway Park February 22nd

Billy Moyer Sr.-I30 Speedway March 29th 



Upcoming World of Outlaws Late Model Series Events:

April 12-Tazewell Speedway-Tazewell, TN-$10,000 to win

April 25/26-Farmer City Raceway-Farmer City, IL-$20,000 to win Illini 100

May 2-Fayetteville Motor Speedway-Fayetteville, NC-$10,000 to win

May 3-Lavonia Speedway-Lavonia, GA-$10,000 to win



The World of Outlaws Late Model Series is brought to fans across the country by many important sponsors and partners, including: American Racing Custom Wheels (Official Custom Wheel), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Armor All (Official Car Care Products), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), KMC (Official Custom Truck Wheel), Lincoln Welders (Official Welder), STP (Official Fuel Treatment), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel), (Hard Charger Award) and McCarthy’s One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning (Raye Vest Memorial Pill Draw Award); in addition to contingency sponsors: Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, MSD, Ohlins Shocks, QuarterMaster, Roush Yates Performance Parts, Superflow Dynos and Wrisco Aluminum; along with manufacturer sponsors Capital Race Cars, Integra Shocks, GRT Chassis, Jake’s Carts, Racing Electronics, Rocket Chassis and TNT Rescue.

Related Posts

Which Schedule Would You like to Add to Your Calendar